SMBE Satellite Meeting

Molecular Evolution and the Cell

May 9-12, 2018

Deer Valley, Utah

Register and submit abstracts before April 1st, 2018 to be considered for talks and posters.

Lodging and meals are included with registration. Please do not make arrangements with Deer Valley individually.


Follow the link below to register: 



About the meeting

More than ever before, it is possible to harness molecular evolutionary analyses to form predictions about cellular and developmental processes. As a consequence, questions that were intractable just a few years ago are now major catalysts of scientific progress. The aim of the meeting is to inspire new research directions, introduce SMBE to a new group of scientists, and capture an exciting, emerging discipline into the SMBE fold.


We invite you to join us and our lineup of distinguished speakers this spring at the inaugural Molecular Evolution and the Cell meeting in beautiful Deer Valley, Utah. 


Meeting Organizers (click to contact): 

Gabrielle Kardon

Mike Shapiro

Nels Elde

Nitin Phadnis 


Invited Speakers


Frances Brodsky, University College London

Nicole King, University of California, Berkeley 

John McCutcheon, University of Montana

Robert Parton, University of Queensland

Phil Newmark, University of Wisconsin, Madison

Ellen Leffler, University of Oxford

Mukund Thattai, NCBS, Bangalore


Sven Gould, University of Dusseldorf 


Lillian Fritz-Laylin, University of Massachusetts, Amherst 

Protein Evolution

Genetic Conflicts

Evolution and Development

Stress & Perturbations

Cell Processes


Molecular Evolution & the Cell


Wednesday, May 9th

Center for Cell and Genome Science, Crocker Science Center, University of Utah

6:00pm Dinner

7:00pm Keynote Seminar Frances Brodsky (University College London)


8:30pm Bus to The Lodges at Deer Valley


9:15pm Check-in (and restaurant/bar – Brass Tag)


Thursday, May 10th

The Lodges at Deer Valley

7:00am – 8:30am Breakfast at the Brass Tag


8:30am – 10:00am          Protein Evolution

Discussion leader: Nitin Phadnis

Evergreen Room – 15 minute talks + 5 minutes Q&A

Arvind Pillai (University of Chicago)

Joseph Harman (University of Oregon)

Mary-Clare Rollins (Montana State University)

Tyler Starr (University of Chicago)


10:00am – 10:30am Coffee Break


10:30am – 12:00pm        Genetic Conflicts

Discussion leader: Nitin Phadnis

Evergreen Room – 15 minute talks + 5 minutes Q&A

Alyssa Kruger (University of Michigan)

Thomas Hill (Kansas University)

Stacey Hanlon (Stowers Institute)

Poster Flash Talks – 1 minute each


12:00pm – 1:30pm Lunch at Brass Tag


1:30pm – 2:30pm           Evolution & Development

Discussion leader: Gabrielle Kardon

Evergreen Room – 15 minute talks + 5 minutes Q&A

Kiara Eldred (Johns Hopkins University)

Gavin Woodruff (University of Oregon)

Benjamin Myers (University of Utah)


2:30pm – 3:00pm Coffee Break


3:00pm – 4:00 pm         Stress & Perturbations (Sponsored by Univ. College London)

Discussion leader: Frances Brodsky

Evergreen Room

Kerry Geiler-Samerotte (Stanford University)

Robert Parton (University of Queensland)


4:30pm – 6:00pm Poster Session + Snacks & Drinks

Snow Park Lodge


6:00pm – 8:30pm Dinner at Snowpark Lodge + After Dinner talks

Discussion leader: Mike Shapiro

Mukund Thattai via Skype (National Center for Biological Sciences, Bangalore)

Gaelen Burke (University of Georgia)

John McCutcheon (University of Montana)


Friday, May 11th

The Lodges at Deer Valley

7:00am – 8:30am Breakfast at the Brass Tag


8:30am – 10:00am          Cell Processes

Discussion leader: Gabrielle Kardon

Evergreen Room – 15 minute talks + 5 minutes Q&A

Courtney Schroeder (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center)

Scott Miller (University of Montana)

Lillian Fritz-Laylin (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

Sven Gould (Heinrich Heine University)


10:00am – 10:30am Coffee Break


10:30am – 12:00pm        Pathogens

Discussion leader: Nels Elde

Evergreen Room – 15 minute talks + 5 minutes Q&A

Daniel Lyons (University of Michigan)

Amanda Mixon (University of Utah)

Hank Seifert (Northwestern University)

Phil Newmark (University of Wisconsin, Madison/HHMI)


12:00pm – 1:30pm Lunch at Brass Tag


1:30pm – 4:00pm Afternoon Break


4:00pm – 5:30pm   Molecular Evolution & the Cell

Discussion leader: Mike Shapiro

Evergreen Room

Ellen Leffler (University of Oxford)

Dmitri Petrov (Stanford University)

Nicole King (University of California, Berkeley/HHMI)


6:00pm – 7:30pm Dinner at Evergreen


7:30pm – 9:00pm Posters and Costume Party at Evergreen



Thursday from 4:30pm – 6:00pm (Snow Park Lodge)

& Friday from 7:30pm – 9:00pm (Evergreen Room – The Lodges at Deer Valley)

Thursday and Friday sessions

  1. Alexander Yuan (University of Washington)

  2. Louisa Stark (University of Utah)

  3. Murat Buyukyoruk (Montana State University)

  4. Cory Dunn (University of Helsinki)

  5. John Pribis (Baylor College of Medicine)

  6. Lauren Priniski (Northwestern University)

  7. Paul Van Erp (Montana State University)

  8. Tanner Wiegand (Montana State University)

  9. Tyler Simmonds (University of Georgia)

  10. Kelsey Coffman (University of Georgia)

  11. Valerie Crowley (Utah State University)

  12. Michael Barnett (New Zealand Institute for Advanced Studies)

  13. Calvin Cicha (Montana State University)

  14. Ryan Jackson (Utah State University)

  15. Zoë Hilbert (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

  16. Kristina Boguslawski (New York University)

  17. Sri Pratima Nandamuri (University of Maryland)

  18. Rini Kasinathan (Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center)

  19. Richard Clark (University of Utah)

  20. Anna Vickery (University of Utah)

  21. Eric Bogenschutz (University of Utah)

  22. Elena Boer (University of Utah)

  23. Andre Kurlovs (University of Utah)

  24. Jacob Cooper (University of Utah)

  25. Alesia McKeown (University of Utah)

Thursday session (local presenters)


  1. Nicole Russell          

  2. Kaitlyn Ellis

  3. Megan Okada

  4. Keir Balla

  5. Emily Maclary

  6. Evan Badhi

  7. Jim Baldwin-Brown

  8. Liz Sefton

  9. Thomas King

  10. Spencer Koury

  11. Aubrey Hawks

  12. Clay Carey

  13. Denise Dearing

  14. Della Fixsen

 15. Diane Downhour



Parking information

If you are driving your own vehicle to the keynote address at the University of Utah Crocker Science Center, please be aware that parking in this area of campus is extremely limited. Visitor parking will be available in parking lot 5, across from Rice-Eccles Stadium. This lot can be found by driving east on South Campus drive (400 south). Just after the stadium, turn left at the light on to 1500E and follow the road into a large parking area. Parking fees are waived with a code provided by email to attendees. Please display the receipt on your vehicle dashboard. The Crocker Science Center (CSC) is located a short walk away from the parking area (see the map below).



Deer Valley Resort

Park City, Utah


This meeting is made possible with financial support from:

Thank you!